24
Oct
09

You got to love Bobcat / Griz Games


volleyballI want to start this post, right off the bat, by apologizing to the Montana State Women’s Volleyball team as well as the Lady Griz team for my obvious ignorance of their sport.

Up until last night, I have to admit, I was pretty clueless about the current state of affairs of Women’s volleyball in the State of Montana, but boy I watched a great Bobcat Griz rivalry match here in Missoula last night. I want to tell you there is nothing like a good Bobcat / Griz match to get the heart a pumping, and the adrenalin flowing. The thing I keep forgetting is that the rivalry for true Bobcat or Griz fans runs deep and it really does not take much more than these two teams getting together to bring that out in a true Bobcat of Griz.

Earlier this week I was told my daughter and her Super Skipper troupe had a performance at the half time of a Lady Griz volleyball match this Friday (volleyball teams please reference the first paragraph of this post). We got to the fieldhouse at the 6:30 designated time to get everything ready and a few more routine practices in, when I noticed a few Bobcat sweat shirts coming through the doors (MSU volleyball team please reference the first paragraph of this post). Feeling kind of guilty I had to ask someone and they told me it was indeed the Bobcat / Griz game that was being played tonight.

After getting my daughter settled and watching a few practices in the upper annex gym I was told to leave by my daughter (you guy’s with daughter will understand) and made my way down to see the game. I arrived to see the Bobcats ahead of the Griz by around 7 points in the first match, only to see the Griz come back and take the match 28-30 despite an excellent effort by my Bobcats. I was hooked!

The Bobcats won the second match 25-20 and then my daughter and her troupe came out for half time (technically 2/5’s time). By the way the Super Skippers rocked! I went down after the half time show and picked up my daughter and her stuff. My daughter was high on adrenaline and wanted to get home and watch her latest DVD. She DID NOT want to sit down and watch the rest of the match. Unfortunately for her I did and I had the car keys and drivers license, so I won.

What an outstanding match for the Bobcat Women. They went on to beat the Griz 21-25, 25-18 and 16-14. I was up there hoot’n and holler’n, while my daughter was trying to hide in her seat, “Dad, like, your embarrassing me”! It was not my beloved basketball but it was still a Bobcat / Griz game and I loved every minute of it!

It was not until this morning and I read the Missoulian account of the game that I realized the significance of last nights game (again MSU volleyball team please reference the first paragraph of this post). I hope this is the turning point in your season and the future of the program, I would not have guessed your record based on what I saw last night.

My daughter is still cranky with me, today – she really wanted to watch her movie, but I think I learned my lesson last night. The old excuses, “Well I am really more of a basketball fan” really do not hold any water if you are a true blue Bobcat or Griz fan, the fact it is a Bobcat / Griz should be reason enough.

Suggestion: Please go and check out the MSU’s Bobcat Volleyball web presence.

MSU VB – Facebook

MSU VB – Twitter

0 Responses to “You got to love Bobcat / Griz Games”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Mslacat on Twitter

RSS Binford’s Blog

  • CHAMPIONSHIPS November 18, 2014
    This past weekend we opened up at Boise State, my Alma Mater, where they had an Alumni Reunion and recognized our 1993-94 Big Sky Champion Team who was also nationally ranked. What an amazing season that was, and what an fantastic experience to be a part of. Although our Bobcats didn't win that night, it was a nice distraction to have dinner after the g […]
    noreply@blogger.com (Coach Binford)

RSS Coach Scanson’s BLOG

  • To whom this may concern... August 6, 2010
    I am talking to you Dan Muscatell. I am talking to all of you on twitter begging me for more blog. I know you missed me, little did I know that you were craving more blog. I put it on the to-do list and then moved it straight to the top.Montana Coaches Association - 2010 ClinicThis event gets better every year for me. It's not that the speakers are any […]
    Coach Scanson

RSS TW Courtside

  • Stock Watch: Week One November 18, 2009
    I’m back! Now that the season has started it’s time to fire TW Courtside back up for another season. Things look a whole lot different in the Big Sky this year, thanks to graduation. This will be an exciting year!This past week we finally got a chance to see all of the Big Sky teams in action. Albeit, it is always tough to gauge teams at this point because m […]
    Tyler

RSS MSU – Volleyball Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Cat-Griz Insider

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Montana Recruiting News

  • How Montana State's Tyler Hall became the best-kept secret in college basketball - SB Nation August 18, 2017
    SB NationHow Montana State's Tyler Hall became the best-kept secret in college basketballSB NationThere's another key aspect of Hall's recruiting process that ended with him happily at Montana State: his parents. Both of Hall's parents played D-III basketball at Augustana University and they were key in harboring his self-confidence. His […]
  • Montana State Bobcats women's basketball scores new recruit - MontanaSports August 10, 2017
    MontanaSportsMontana State Bobcats women's basketball scores new recruitMontanaSportsBOZEMAN – The Montana State women's basketball team is preparing for its future as a recruit announced her commitment on Wednesday evening. Kenzie Stumne, from Forest Lake High School in Minnesota, announced her commitment to the Bobcats on ...
  • Stacked Missoula Sentinel returns talent everywhere, particularly front line - The Missoulian August 19, 2017
    The MissoulianStacked Missoula Sentinel returns talent everywhere, particularly front lineThe Missoulian"I've just been practicing in the summer a little bit with my family," said the Griz basketball recruit, who will suit up for her mom, Lady Griz coach Shannon Schweyen, in the winter of 2018-19. "I was always a setter, and once I got to […]
  • Incoming Lady Buc voted NJCAA Top 40 all-star - MontanaSports August 17, 2017
    MontanaSportsIncoming Lady Buc voted NJCAA Top 40 all-starMontanaSportsAn advantage in being selected to the all-star game was being able to showcase an individual's skill level to many of the 4-year college basketball coaches in attendance that are interested in recruiting the sophomore prospects for the 2018-2019 season.
  • Flag on the play: Officials shortage in western Montana inspires ... - The Missoulian August 5, 2017
    The MissoulianFlag on the play: Officials shortage in western Montana inspires ...The MissoulianOfficials with the Montana Officials Association watch as the Sentinel football team substitutes players during a game last season. Facing a shortage of referees, ...and more »

Categories

  • 389,758

