19
Oct
10

Preseason Predictions: BSC Women Basketball


With the Preseason Big Sky Conference media and coaches polls about ready to come out I have been asked a few dozen times to give my predictions on how the conference will shake out. I have always shied away from doing these predictions because one I am obviously a little bias, and tend to give my Montana State Bobcats the benefit of the doubt that the other teams don’t get, and second I think I know Montana and Montana State real while other schools not so well. Last night though I was once again asked to give my opinion to a friend, so I went a head and gave it a shot. Here is my educated guess. I will be real interested to see how it compares when the official coaches and media polls come out.

First up the Women’s Programs.

1 EWU – Clearly the number one team coming into the season. EWU finished the regular season at #1 and lost only two players off that team. They have the reigning league MVP returning in Piper to go along with the co- defensive player of the year. This was the easiest pick of the bunch.

2 (tied) MSU – The Bobcat’s return 4 of their five starters. Two All-conference players including co-defensive player of the year Sarah (Strand) Balian. Balian is such a well rounded player that she could challenge Piper for MVP this year. Bussey needs to play more consistent this year. When Bussey is on her game few players in the conference can score the ball like she can. The biggest question is who will replace All conference point guard Erica Perry. The Bobcats have a lot of options at the point, but someone needs to stake a claim to the spot. The Bobcats should have a much improved post game but, may not a lot of depth there.

2 (tied) UM – There is a lot of talent on the Lady Griz roster, but also a lot of injury questions. Katie Baker has all conference talent but is coming off a knee injury. She could have a big impact for the Lady Griz. The Griz graduated its two point guards last season, and it appears the reins of the program will be handed over to true freshman Lexi Nelson. True freshman Torry Hill and redshirt freshman Ashley Ferda could also be a factor at the point but both are also coming off of knee injuries. Watch the point guard spot, if the Lady Griz gets solid play there they will be off to the races.

4 PSU – Portland State always seems to have a boat load of talent, and this year will be no difference. I think they have the talent that compares well with the top 3 teams in the league and could be a dark horse in the race, and it will all depend on how the coaches put it together.

5 Sac St - Sacramento State does not always have the biggest or most talented team in the conference but it is hard to argue that anyone plays a more scrappy game. They will win some games this year they should not simply by out hustling and out toughing some teams. Other games if the refs call it tight they will get blown out.

6 NAU – I thought N. Arizona had one of the best recruiting years last year. They have a lot of young talented players, but I do not think they are ready yet.

7 ISU - Every time I count Idaho State down they come back to have a good year. I do not think they have the talent this year to be a contender, but coach Sobolewski seems to do his best work with little.

8 UNC – N. Colorado is the school I know the least about but they lost All conference player Whitley Cox off of last years team and I do not think they have the talent to replace her yet.

9 WSU – I am just not that impressed with where Weber State is right now. I do not see a lot of talent, nor particularly great coaching. I think it could be a log year.

Of course a few key injuries here or their and all of this could change dramatically but that is my take. If you disagree let me know.


0 Responses to “Preseason Predictions: BSC Women Basketball”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Mslacat on Twitter

RSS Binford’s Blog

  • Happy Anniversary April 8, 2014
    Happy Anniversary to my mom and dad who have been married for 50 years. I am so thankful for my parents, the role models they are, and to be a part of their celebration. We learn so much from our parents and for me I take so much away from each of them. My dad is one of the most optimistic and positive people I have ever known. I think a great family movie […]
    noreply@blogger.com (Coach Binford)

RSS Coach Scanson’s BLOG

  • To whom this may concern... August 6, 2010
    I am talking to you Dan Muscatell. I am talking to all of you on twitter begging me for more blog. I know you missed me, little did I know that you were craving more blog. I put it on the to-do list and then moved it straight to the top.Montana Coaches Association - 2010 ClinicThis event gets better every year for me. It's not that the speakers are any […]
    Coach Scanson

RSS TW Courtside

  • Stock Watch: Week One November 18, 2009
    I’m back! Now that the season has started it’s time to fire TW Courtside back up for another season. Things look a whole lot different in the Big Sky this year, thanks to graduation. This will be an exciting year!This past week we finally got a chance to see all of the Big Sky teams in action. Albeit, it is always tough to gauge teams at this point because m […]
    Tyler

RSS MSU – Volleyball Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The Cat-Griz Insider

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Montana Recruiting News

  • Fish adds to staff, discusses basketball recruiting, schedule - The Bozeman Daily Chronicle April 19, 2014
    Fish adds to staff, discusses basketball recruiting, scheduleThe Bozeman Daily ChronicleKenya Crandell has spent only a few days in Bozeman, but joining Brian Fish's first Montana State coaching staff gives the school's newest assistant a feeling of circularity. “I'm very excited for the opportunity to work with Coach Fish,” Crandell said ... […]
  • Griz add another California recruit - Montana Kaimin April 23, 2014
    Griz add another California recruitMontana KaiminIt's been a busy offseason for the Montana basketball team. After the Griz flamed out in the first round of the Big Sky Conference Tournament in March, the coaches knew they had some holes to fill. Last week, they started filling them. Montana has ...
  • Michigan still in hunt for 2014-15 basketball targets Aubrey Dawkins, Cole Huff - The Muskegon Chronicle April 23, 2014
    Michigan still in hunt for 2014-15 basketball targets Aubrey Dawkins, Cole HuffThe Muskegon ChronicleHe is an unranked 2014 recruit from Palo Alto, Cal., and has reportedly drawn interest from Dayton, Rhode Island, Pepperdine, Montana, Utah State, College of Charleston and numerous low-major programs in the past. Current Michigan walk-on Cole ...
  • Deer Lodge's Walker among UM softball signees - Ravalli Republic April 23, 2014
    Deer Lodge's Walker among UM softball signeesRavalli Republic“Ever since my freshman year when I heard there was a softball team coming, I was like, 'Yep, that's my goal,” said Walker, whose father Kirk Walker played point guard for the Grizzlies from 1993-97 and now coaches the Lady Wardens basketball team. She ...Griz softball signs first Mo […]
  • Fish adds Arizona players to MSU roster - KBZK Bozeman News April 23, 2014
    Fish adds Arizona players to MSU rosterKBZK Bozeman NewsMontana State's first-year head basketball coach made his first additions to the Bobcat roster Tuesday, landing a pair of athletic high school players from Arizona. Quinn Price, a 6-9 ... MSU may add another player during the spring recruiting season ...and more »

Categories

  • 368,044

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

